Jason Boulanger Photography

Orange County Wedding Photographer

Old Town Orange

with 5 comments

A friend of mine is a fashion designer/stylist – we got together at beautiful Old Town Orange in Southern California for a shoot. I always enjoy working with her because she’s always patient enough for me to bring out my film cameras and wait to have the photos processed and scanned. Aside from a few photos shot digitally, most of these were taken with my EOS 3, Mamiya RZ 67, and the Yashica-mat 124G she’s holding in one of the photos.

On a related note, I just received my copy of Jonathan Canlas’ “Film is Not Dead” book. I’m a longtime fan of not only his work, but his dedication to analogue photography. If you’re a digital photographer and you’ve been thinking of getting into film (either again, or for the first time), buy the book and check out his Facebook page; he’s got a ton of knowledge to share.

Written by Jason Boulanger

January 30, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. great photos! i wish i can shoot natural light like this.. are most of these shots film ?

    Ricky J Hernandez

    April 26, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    • Thanks! About 2/3 of these are film.

      Jason Boulanger

      April 26, 2013 at 12:34 pm

      • wow! those photos are really great! where do you take your film ? or do you develop it yourself ?

        Ricky J Hernandez

        April 26, 2013 at 12:47 pm

      • I usually process and scan my black and white film myself at home. E-6 film is processed by Samy’s in Santa Ana and scanned at home, and C-41 film is either processed and scanned by Pro Photo Connection in Irvine, or processed by Samy’s and scanned at home (I feel that Pro Photo’s scanning is better, but I’ve found Samy’s to be better about turn-around time).

        In the case of these photos, I did the scanning at home on a Nikon 8000 ED. My choice to outsource the scanning or not depends on a number of factors (including how many rolls I have vs. how busy I’m going to be… or how lazy I’m feeling). Pro Photo does a fantastic job with C-41 scans!

        Jason Boulanger

        April 26, 2013 at 3:15 pm

  2. i really do enjoy these photos, do you use a light meter or your cameras meter ? sorry for the many questions i just would like to get into street photography my work relies on strobes and its %100 digital.. so i want to make an effort in shooting more film and like i said street photography.

    Ricky J Hernandez

    April 26, 2013 at 10:45 pm


Leave a Reply

